DiCamillo Companion
England

Wavendon House (The Grange)

  • House & Family History: Wavendon is a large house of stucco and painted brick. There was an earlier manor house here called The Grange that was partly rebuilt in the late 17th century and added to circa 1703 for James Selby. The House was enlarged again in 1798 for Henry Hoare of the famous banking family. After the 1902 fire at Stourhead House, the Hoares removed chimneypieces from Wavendon and installed them at Stourhead, where they remain today. By the late 20th century Wavendon housed a school, which was converted, circa 1990, to flats.

  • Garden & Outbuildings: The park was landscaped by Richard Woods, 1768-72. An early 19th century lodge in the Picturesque style is extant on Lower End Road.

  • Architect: Richard Woods

    Date: 1768-72
    Designed: Landscaping

    View all houses
  • Title: Stourhead Guidebook - 1990
    Author: NA
    Year Published: 1990
    Reference: pg. 49
    Publisher: London: The National Trust
    ISBN: NA
    Book Type: Softback

    Title: Stourhead Guidebook - 1990
    Author: NA
    Year Published: 1990
    Reference: pg. 54
    Publisher: London: The National Trust
    ISBN: NA
    Book Type: Softback

    Title: Buildings of England: Buckinghamshire, The
    Author: Pevsner, Nikolaus; Williamson, Elizabeth
    Year Published: 1994
    Reference: pgs. 713-714
    Publisher: London: Penguin Books
    ISBN: 0140710620
    Book Type: Hardback

  • House Listed: Grade II*

    Park Listed: Not Listed

  • Past Seat of: James Selby, early 18th century. Henry Hoare, late 18th century; Hoare family here until 1919.

    Current Ownership Type: Flat Owners Company / Condo Association

    Primary Current Ownership Use: Flats / Multi Family

    Ownership Details: Today flats.

  • House Open to Public: No

    Historic Houses Member: No