The New Entrance Facade
Old Entrance Facade
Detail of Old Entrance Facade
The Garden Temple
House & Family History: The perfect Georgian house of three stories and five bays, crowned with a giant pediment, Hatton Grange could almost be a giant dolls' house. Designed by Thomas Farnolls Pritchard, the architect of the famous Iron Bridge of 1779 at Coalbrookdale (the first of its kind in the world, which contributed to the naming of this area as the "birthplace of the Industrial Revolution"), Hatton was designed for the Slaney family and remains the home of their descendant, Rupert Kenyon-Slaney, and his wife Christine. Pritchard's attention to detail, with designs for chimneypieces and plasterwork, can be seen (copied verbatim by Pirtchard's craftsmen from his designs) in his drawing book in the library of the American Institute of Architects in Washington. In the 19th century Hatton's then owner, William Kenyon-Slaney, married Lady Mabel Bridgeman, the daughter of the 3rd Earl of Bradford from nearby Weston Park, so, perhaps unsurprisingly, the Victorian architect John MacVicar Anderson, who made so many changes at Weston Park, came to work on Hatton Grange, bringing the House up to Victorian standards of hospitality and comfort. (We are most grateful to Gareth Williams for this history of Hatton Grange.)
Garden & Outbuildings: Hatton stands in charming pleasure grounds, dotted with a series of valleys and dells, and parkland ornamented with a classical rotunda designed by Clough Williams-Ellis, architect of the Italianate village of Portmeirion in Wales. (We are grateful to Gareth Williams for this history of the Park).
Architect: John MacVicar AndersonDate: 19th century
Architect: Bertram Clough Williams-EllisDate: Circa 1960
Country Life: CXLIII, 466, 1968.
House Listed: Grade II*
Park Listed: Grade II
Current Seat / Home of: Rupert and Christina Kenyon-Slaney
Past Seat / Home of: William Kenyon-Slaney, 19th century.
Current Ownership Type: Individual / Family Trust
Primary Current Ownership Use: Private Home
House Open to Public: No
Historic Houses Member: No