DiCamillo Companion
Ireland

Florence Court (Florencecourt)

  • Built / Designed For: John Cole, 1st Baron Mountflorence, who named the House after his mother, Florence Bourchier Wrey.

    House & Family History: Florence Court boasts exquisite circa 1755 Rococo plasterwork in the style of Robert West. In 1953 the 5th Earl of Enniskillen gave the House and grounds to the National Trust.

    Collections: At her death in 1998, the Dowager Countess of Enniskillen bequeathed much of the former contents of Florence Court to the National Trust, who display the fine Irish furniture, and other pieces, at the House today. The contents had moved, with the Cole family, to Perthshire in 1973.

    Comments: Florence Court is considered one of the most important houses in Ulster.

  • Garden & Outbuildings: There are extensive walks in the grounds, also a sawmill, holiday cottage, and the walled garden. The Florence Court Yew, or Irish Yew, was developed here.

  • Architect: Davis (Daviso) Ducart (Duckhart) (de Arcort)

    Date: Circa 1770
    Designed: Arcades and pavilions for 1st Earl of Enniskillen
    (Attribution of this work is uncertain)
    View all houses

    Architect: Richard Castle (Cassels)

    Date: Circa 1745
    Designed: House for John Cole
    (Attribution of this work is uncertain)
    View all houses
  • Country Life: CLXIX, 1242, 1318, 1981.

  • Title: Guide to Irish Country Houses, A
    Author: Bence-Jones, Mark
    Year Published: 1988
    Reference: pgs. 125-126
    Publisher: London: Constable and Company
    ISBN: 0094699909
    Book Type: Hardback

  • House Listed: Grade A

    Park Listed: Unknown

  • "Blandings" (2013-14 - TV series). "The Woman in White" (2018– as the exteriors of Limmeridge House).
  • Past Seat / Home of: John Cole, 1st Baron Mountflorence, 18th century; William Willoughby Cole, 1st Earl of Enniskillen, 18th century; William Willoughby Cole, 3rd Earl of Enniskillen, 19th century; John Henry Michael Cole, 5th Earl of Enniskillen, 20th century.

    Current Ownership Type: The National Trust

    Primary Current Ownership Use: Visitor Attraction

  • House Open to Public: Yes

    Phone: 02866-348-249

    Fax: 02866-348-873

    Email: florencecourt@nationaltrust.org.uk

    Website: https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk

    Historic Houses Member: No