Earlier Houses: An 18th century Gothick style house was destroyed by fire in 1820 and replaced by the current house.
Built / Designed For: Lady Colthurst
House & Family History: Sir James St. John Jefferyes built a Georgian Gothick style house against the keep of Blarney Castle in the 18th century. In 1820 this House was destroyed by fire (the remaining wings now form a picturesque addition to the Castle keep). The Jefferyes family married into the Colthurst family in 1846, and, in 1874, Lady Colthurst decided to build a new house in the Scottish Baronial style. The new house was erected to the south of the Castle keep and remains the home of the Colthurst family today.
Garden & Outbuildings: At the same time the Jefferyes family laid out a landscape garden known as the Rock Close with a remarkable collection of massive boulders and rocks arranged around what seemed to have been druid remains from pre-historic times.
House Listed: Unknown
Park Listed: Unknown
Current Seat / Home of: Colthurst family
Past Seat / Home of: Sir James St. John Jefferyes, 18th century. Sir Richard la Touche Colthurst, 9th Bt., 20th century.
Current Ownership Type: Individual / Family Trust
Primary Current Ownership Use: Private Home
House Open to Public: No
Historic Houses Member: No